Weight Hate

Weight loss diagram by Stuart Miles via freedigitalphotos.net

Weight loss diagram by Stuart Miles via freedigitalphotos.net

I know better. You probably know better. Everyone knows better.

But I can’t help it.

Right now, I’m at another plateau. I’m still doing the right things – exercising, eating right, trying to get enough sleep, all that good stuff – but my weight is just standing still.

I have a goal of taking off another 10 to 20 pounds. And so far, it just hasn’t happened. I’ll lose a pound here, and then gain it right back. It doesn’t seem to matter what I do.

I can eat right and gain two pounds. I can eat poorly and lose half a pound. Or I can eat right and lose a pound.

The way that my actions don’t seem to be reflected in any outcomes is getting really frustrating.

But I know better.

Even if I’m not seeing any results, I need to soldier on. I need to keep up with what I’m doing. I need to keep exercising. I need to keep eating right. I need to keep trying to get my eight hours a night.

I know that, in the end, they will make a difference. I know that I will see something shift once my body is ready to shift. And I know that I’m doing what’s good for me: I’m healthier, I’m less at risk for weight-related issues, and I’m even feeling better mentally when I get my exercise in.

So I know better. But I still can’t help looking at that scale and having weight hate.

About Katherine Sanger

Katherine Sanger was a Jersey Girl before getting smart and moving to Texas. She's been published in various e-zines and print, including Baen's Universe, Black Petals, Star*Line, Anotherealm, Lost in the Dark, Bewildering Stories, Aphelion, and RevolutionSF, and edited From the Asylum, an e-zine of fiction and poetry. Her poetry has won numerous awards, including First Place in Byline's "Autumn Poem" contest, First Place in "Lucky Thirteen" contest sponsored by Sol Magazine, and Honorable Mention in: The Houston Chapter Award, The Hap Fulgham Prize, and The "Varoom-Varoom" Award.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weight Hate

  1. Jen says:

    Throw the scale away. Or maybe just keep it in the garage for a while.

Leave a Reply

