Seasonal Spread

24745478 red velvet and candy cane

It was winter. It was the holidays. It was time to gain weight!

No, but seriously, it was that time of year. The time when it gets too cold to do much outside, and the time when there is great food (and hot food!) everywhere, encouraging you (well, me) to eat more than I should, and excuse it, saying it’s the holidays.

I’ve gone up a size and gained back about 8 pounds. Whoops.

I’m not too happy about it, and I’m honestly not sure how much of it is because of those holidays and how much of it is due to a change in my medications. (Check out my blog posts on being hospitalized last month if you’re interested…)

Anyway, regardless of the reason, the end result is the same: I stopped eating right, I stopped exercising, and I gained back weight and got a bit out of shape.

I’ve started to rectify it, though. I’ve begun tracking my food on my phone again, I’ve begun exercising, and I’ve swapped out my clothes as a reminder to myself that I gained the weight. When I look down and see a size 12 on my jeans, it’s a bit of a jolt to see that I’ve slipped, and it helps me remember that I need to watch what I do or I will be going down that slippery slope, making myself sick by not taking care of myself.

So for all those people out there who also suffered from seasonal spread, realize you’re not alone and know that I’m fighting it with you. We can take care of ourselves and make ourselves feel good and healthy. Sometimes it just takes a little more will power and self-control than we have.

 

About Katherine Sanger

Katherine Sanger was a Jersey Girl before getting smart and moving to Texas. She's been published in various e-zines and print, including Baen's Universe, Black Petals, Star*Line, Anotherealm, Lost in the Dark, Bewildering Stories, Aphelion, and RevolutionSF, and edited From the Asylum, an e-zine of fiction and poetry. Her poetry has won numerous awards, including First Place in Byline's "Autumn Poem" contest, First Place in "Lucky Thirteen" contest sponsored by Sol Magazine, and Honorable Mention in: The Houston Chapter Award, The Hap Fulgham Prize, and The "Varoom-Varoom" Award.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

